Geek Life:
Proving that you can make education appealing – simple, entertaining, enjoyable and damn right addictive – you can’t help but feel that Springloaded are onto a real winner.

Eurogamer.net:
It's incredibly simple, but also really effective, taking full advantage of the phonetic nature of Japanese.

Kotaku:
It's incredibly simple, but also really effective, taking full advantage of the phonetic nature of Japanese.

Indie Games Magazine:
‘Hiragana Pixel Party’ Makes Learning To Write Japanese Fun

148 apps:
fter all, the best form of education is the kind that doesn’t feel like work.

The Guardian:
A clever and endearing idea.

Hollowminds:
It's a brilliant mix of bit trip runner and LEARNING!


Customer reviews:

this is a complete dump of the app store reviews as of June 7th 2012, no reviews have been removed.

  • Austrailia

Great ★★★★★

by Mega-Captain Matt - Version 1.0 - May 28, 2012

Fantastic game. The music is catchy without being annoying and the gameplay is fun and addictive. I wish there were more apps like this one out there.

Awesome in every way ★★★★★

by pravityodika - Version 1.0 - May 28, 2012

I rarely write appstore reviews but I just have to give a 5-star review for this one. The megapack was an instant buy for me after going through the first part of the game. The art style is very nice to look at, the music is very catchy, and it's seriously fun learning the japanese characters with this app. Allowing you to learn word meanings, if the developer can somehow fit in into the game, would make this app even better. But for now, this app is already amazing as it is.

great fun ★★★★★

by crimsonyuji - Version 1.0 - Jun 2, 2012

would recommend this app for kids as well

Brilliant! ★★★★★

by Hollowminds - Version 1.0 - May 18, 2012

Purchased the mega pack a few minutes after playing the free section of the game, It's wonderful. The music and art are just up my alley, along with the bit trip runner style of play. Great work James.

  • Austria

I love it ★★★★★

by Yins - Version 1.0 - May 26, 2012

I started to learn Japanese a few weeks ago. I am so happy I found this game. It offers beautiful 8-bit-graphics, awesome chiptunes music and good gameplay. It helps with learning Kana a lot. I probably would not play and learn as much as I do now if this was just another crappy "serious game", but it's not - I can feel it's a work of love from someone who really appreciates the art of videogames. Thank you for Hiragana Pixel Party!

  • France


Excellent ! ★★★★★

by tbex78 - Version 1.0 - Jun 2, 2012

Vraiment une application très bien pensé ! Cette approche didactive par le jeu pour apprendre à lire le Japonais simplement et reconnaître les caractère est excellent. Je reconnais déjà une 20taine d'hiragana. A force de recommencer les niveaux encore et encore ça fini forcément par rentrer ! Jetez-vous dessus sans hésitation !

  • Denmark


Rigtig godt! ★★★★★
by Wikzo - Version 1.0 - Jun 2, 2012

Underholdende og lærende på samme tid. Fantastisk.

  • Italy


Applicazione fantastica! ★★★★★

by St. Alex - Version 1.0 - May 21, 2012

Vi insegna a riconoscere e aiuta a memorizzare i caratteri dei due alfabeti base del giapponese: hiragana e katakana. È anche un rhythm game divertente anche per quelli che non intendono studiare l'alfabeto giapponese. Cinque stelle ma ci sono ancora un po' di features che possono aggiungere.

 

  • Mexico


Excelente para la practica ★★★★★

by - Version 1.1 - Jun 5, 2012

Muy buen juego para practicar el hiragana, y tambien es muy barato el tener todas las expansiones del juego.

 

  • Norway


Amazing ★★★★★

by XPixelAngelx - Version 1.0 - May 27, 2012

Really good way of learning.

 

  • UK

reat app ★★★★★

by - Version 1.1 - Jun 6, 2012

I am very satisfied with this app. It has helped me learn and been fun whilst doing so. I recommend this app to people who have already learned Japanese or just beginning.

Genius ★★★★★

by FenrisW0lf - Version 1.0 - May 24, 2012

This is such a good game. Everything about it is lovely. The pixel art style, the music, the addictive gameplay, and best of all, learning. It's free to try which tops it off.

Genius. ★★★★★

by GigiFusc - Version 1.0 - May 22, 2012

What a beautiful game. Play and learn Japanese at the same time. Try the free version to see how great this is!!

Learning made fun & addictive ★★★★★

by Acid Raw - Version 1.0 - May 18, 2012

I love this game, it's so addictive trying to get a perfect score and I'm already starting to recognise the symbols. Had to buy the mega pack to learn more and listen to more of the music. Would be nice if it had a stroke order game too.

🌟🌟🌟 ★★★

by Project Sora - Version 1.0 - May 17, 2012

Making the full version as an in-app purchase is not a good idea. (Springloaded Response - makinga lite version and a paid versionwould result in losing progression and having to replay the first levels of the game again)

Amazing!!! ★★★★★

by Tinrilla - Version 1.0 - May 16, 2012

I love this game much! The music is great and it's really helpful for learning Japanese. In my opinion it's the best learning game in the app store! Would recommend 100%

Great fun! ★★★★★

by Hairyman / Sonic Yoda - Version 1.0 - May 14, 2012

Really good game! Reminds me of Vib Ribbon!

 

  • USA


Fun way to learn hiragana ★★★★★

by Billy Monks - Version 1.1 - Jun 6, 2012

The game is simple and easy to get into.

Such a great game! ★★★★

by Smergphy - Version 1.1 - Jun 5, 2012

I didn't give it five stars because there is just so much room for improvements!! I love this game and I'm learning without even noticing! Thanks!

Superb! ★★★★★

by - Version 1.0 - Jun 2, 2012

This games is just amazing. Very original spin on learning Japanese with a rhythm game groove. Just love it and the sound track is awesome chip tunes that are just too catchy!

Great game + get yourself some education XD ★★★★★

by siliuscr - Version 1.0 - May 31, 2012

I wish I had this little gem back when I was starting Japanese, this an awesome rhythmic game that teaches you kanas! I use it to practice my eroding katakana.Thanks for this great app!!!

A fun intro to japanese ★★★★★

by jrh388 - Version 1.0 - May 29, 2012

Love the art style and music. A great price for all the content you get.

Great but needs work ★★★★

by Bijiont - Version 1.0 - May 28, 2012

Pressing the character response time seems sluggish at times. There is also no resume once you have paused a game in session. Very nice way to polish your general alphabet if your rusty or new to Japanese.

Amazing! ★★★★★

by - Version 1.0 - May 28, 2012

This game is fantastic and it's exactly what I've been looking for! I can't wait for more updates!

Amazing! ★★★★★

by Bdr9 - Version 1.0 - May 26, 2012

This app is fantastic!! It's amazing how fast I learn the characters. And the game is fun too!

Absolutely amazing!!! Great buy! ★★★★★

by Joncomo - Version 1.0 - May 26, 2012

I haven't found an app that made me this excited in years! Perfectly crafted in every aspect! Really can't say how much I enjoy it. Bought the mega pack after 30 minutes of playing, it's a superb deal for what's included! Looking forward to the word edition, I'll be sure to follow and check it out when it comes out. Thank you! :)

Great ★★★★★

by please get a better single of the week - Version 1.0 - May 18, 2012

Brilliant game, helps more than one would expect with Japanese

Nice little app! ★★★★★

by Sketchie00 - Version 1.0 - May 16, 2012

I recently tried this app the other day and in about a hour I learned the hiragana for A, E, I, O, and U - and that is fast for someone my age! ;) There are tons more lessons for hiragana and even kanatana, and it's only for 2 dollars which is a huge bargain! The gameplay also helps with memorization and rhythm from what I've seen. Try this app, you won't be disappointed!

Chip-tune, Hiragana and 8bit art!!! ★★★★★

by Zgoldenlion - Version 1.0 - May 15, 2012

Count me in this game makes practicing kana way more enjoyable.

Fun and addicting. ★★★★★

by Martymcfli - Version 1.0 - May 15, 2012

This is a great way to get the characters drilled into your memory. However, I can see this be fairly frustrating at first if you don't already know, or have some prior knowledge of the characters. But regardless, it's a lot of fun and a good alternative to flash cards.


© Springloaded Games Multinational Mega-Corp ltd. inc.